It all started …

… when I bought (or, rather, my parents bought) the first issue of Electronic Gaming Monthly magazine. Or was it the first issue of Video Games & Computer Entertainment?

Honestly, it doesn’t matter–I hold both gaming pubs partially responsible for cultivating what quickly developed into an unquestionably unhealthy obsession with NEC’s little white wonder, the PC Engine.

Anyway, although my parents were willing to buy me the magazines that brought about said obsession, they weren’t willing to buy me an actual PC Engine system.

They were willing–eventually–to buy me that system’s ugly American stepsister, the TurboGrafx-16, though–and the following year (for my birthday or Christmas, I can’t remember which) they bought me the amazingly overpriced (and oversized) TurboGrafx-CD attachment, too.

Sadly, I sold both systems and a slew of games–I think I had about 30 at the time–a few years later so I could buy a Japanese Sega Saturn. (Which I eventually sold so I could buy a Dreamcast, I believe.)

Before you shed too many tears, I should tell you that I recently (finally!) acquired a fairly pristine PC Engine system–and six bottom-drawer games–through Yahoo! Auctions Japan.

That transaction prompted me to do something I’ve been meaning to do for some time: start a PC Engine-focused blog.

So, what can you expect to find on this blog? Well, I plan on sharing random musings, for sure, but I plan on sharing impressions and photos of games, too. I also plan on sharing scans of old magazines–including DuoWorld, TurboForce and TurboPlay.

In the meantime, check out the sites listed along the right side of the screen. I think you’ll find all of them to be well worth your time and attention if you’re any kind of PC Engine fan.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “It all started …

  1. Awesome, good luck with this project!

  2. Thanks, IvaNEC!

    I’ll continue to post some PC Engine stuff at my other blog, but I don’t think all of what I post here should be posted there, if that makes sense.

    Anyway, thanks again for the support πŸ™‚

  3. Haha, I saw this on my “referrers” stats page, clicked on the link, and was all like “HEY THIS GUY STOLE… oh wait”. I look forward to more PCE coverage!

  4. Ha! Sorry if I startled you for a minute there, Zigfried. And thanks for checking out this work-in-progress blog. Hopefully I’ll make it interesting enough for you to come back at some point πŸ™‚

  5. Looks like a great start to a cool blog. Can’t wait to hear more about your PCE adventures.

  6. Hey there nectarsis! Thanks for the support. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

