Which box art is better (Monster Lair edition)

My recent purchase of Wonder Boy III: Monster Lair prompted me to recall my fondness for the art that graced the cover of the North American version of the game. (Honestly, it was one of the few pieces of TurboGrafx-16 box art that I liked.)

Here’s a scan of the game’s North American cover art, in case it’s been a while since you’ve seen it:

And here’s the Japanese version’s cover art:

I have to say, I think I prefer the art used for the North American release. Which one do you prefer?

See also:Which box art is better? (Exile 2 edition)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Which box art is better (Monster Lair edition)

  1. I like the US version better for three reasons:

    1) The monkey with his hand on his head looks funny, as if he’s wondering what the hell’s going on in front of him.

    2) The lettering used for the title looks cooler, even though it’s the all-purpose “early TG-16 game” lettering.

    3) Something about the colors they chose is pretty nice, mainly with the greens and pinks.

    That being said, the people and monsters look better on the JPN cover, and I like that they bothered to put a little monster down in the corner, in the water.

  2. I agree with you 100 percent, IvaNEC — esp. your comment about the colors used while creating the NA art. I really like the pastel look of it, for some reason.

Leave a Reply

