My last Monster Lair post (for the foreseeable future), I swear …

Here’s something I didn’t know about Wonder Boy III: Monster Lair before my copy of the game arrived a few days ago: In lieu of a traditional instructional manual, it comes with a 10-inch-by-14-inch piece of paper that’s been folded into a square.

The front side of said piece of paper is a poster:

The back side, on the other hand, contains all of the instructional stuff:

Click on either of the images above to get a better look at them.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “My last Monster Lair post (for the foreseeable future), I swear …

  1. That’s a really neat piece of art. The snippet that appears on the cover doesn’t do the work justice.

    Thanks for posting this. I have the US version of Monster Lair but not the JPN one; now I know that when I do buy the JPN one, I should try to make sure it comes with the poster.

  2. You’re welcome, IvaNEC. I agree with you about the current JPN cover not doing the full work justice. I especially like seeing all of the enemies/monsters at the bottom of the image.

    BTW, I wouldn’t worry too much about picking up a copy of the JPN version and not getting the poster, especially since it has all of the instructional information on it.

  3. This is pretty much a pointless post, but I just wanted to say I got the JPN Monster Lair in a package from Wolfgames today, and with it came the poster. So I am happy right now. šŸ™‚

  4. That’s not a pointless post at all! Congrats, by the way šŸ™‚ Did you get any other games, or was that it?

    I have my eye on a few Famicom games, but I’m sitting tight for the moment.

  5. I got a bunch of games, but they’re mostly frivolous. I’m at the point where there just isn’t much noteworthy or exciting stuff left to get. The poster was probably the coolest thing in the package, haha.

  6. Oh, sure, now you’re being cagey! I’m just kidding, you don’t have to share if you don’t want to šŸ™‚

  7. Ha, it’s not that chum, it’s just that a lot of the games really aren’t very interesting. I’m looking forward to playing Janshin Densetsu, Ghost Sweeper Mikami, and Princess Minerva. The one most other people would find noteworthy is Jigoku Meguri.

  8. Hey, those games seem interesting enough to me! Actually, I’m not sure I had heard of Princess Minerva before you mentioned it. It looks kind of interesting — the battles especially — so I’ll be interested to read your thoughts on it at some point.

Leave a Reply

