Something old or something new?

Well, it’s that time of year again–the time of year when I waste way too much time pondering how I’m going to spend the birthday and Christmas money I receive from my parents.

So, what am I hoping to buy with this presumed windfall? Here are the top three possibilities:

1. A slew of PC Engine platformers–Specifically: Gekisha Boy (right), Mizubaku Daibouken, Parasol Stars and Rainbow Islands. How much can four old PC Engine games cost, you ask? Quite a bit if you’re anal retentive (like yours truly) and you only buy games that come with boxes and instruction manuals.

2. A red Twin Famicom–My desire for Sharp’s toaster-esque console–its eject button causes cartridges to pop out of the system like toast pops out of the aforementioned appliance–seems to bloom and fade like the blossoms of a cherry tree. Apparently it’s blooming again, as I can’t stop thinking about the damn thing.

3. A PS3–Surprise, surprise: I’m actually open to buying something current. Of course, the problem with this choice is that it’s the most costly. That said, it would be awfully nice to (finally) be able to play games like 3D Dot Game Heroes, Demon’s Souls, Katamari Forever, LittleBigPlanet and Valkyria Chronicles.

I honestly have no idea which of the above options I’ll blow my money on at the end of the year, but you can bet your butt I’ll post all the gory details here.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Something old or something new?

  1. Personally I’d opt for the PCE games. With some patience, looking around, and luck they can all be had somewhat reasonably. 2nd would be the PS3.

  2. Yeah, that’s probably what I’ll end up buying (the PCE games), as I’ve been wanting them for quite some time. The PS3 is a distinct possibility, though… 🙂

  3. Actually oddly enough Parasol Stars is USUALLY cheaper for the US version..a rarity.

  4. And don’t I know it! Sadly, I actually owned the US version way back when — but I sold my Turbo (and CD attachment and TurboDUO and a TON of games) so I could buy a Saturn (which I later sold for some other system. Sigh.)

  5. I kind of miss my Saturn at times…but my Duo, snd SGFX/SuperCDrom will NEVER leave this house 😉

  6. I know exactly what you mean, nectarsis — after giving up my Turbos and my first PC Engine (Core Grafx II) and deeply regretting it, I’ll never give up the PCEs and CD-Rom2 attachment that I bought recently. That said, I wish I still had my (gray Japanese) Saturn, too.

Leave a comment